ICTP-EAUMP School on Modern Functional Analysis

Date and time: 
Mon, 2017-06-19 08:00
Location / Venue: 














The summer school is intended to provide a thorough introduction to various topics in functional analysis, from introductory to more advanced, and with a particular focus on functional analytic methods used in current research.


Two introductory courses in the first week willl cover some of the fundamentals of functional analysis and of operator theory, before two more advanced courses in the second week will introduce ideas which establish a link between the methods of classical functional analysis and the modern theory of partial differential equations. Finally, the two courses in week three will expose participants to some more advanced topics which tie together the areas of functional analysis, differential equations and geometry.
The School is intended for advanced graduate students (M.Sc. and PhD) and young academic staff members from Eastern Africa and beyond. Participants should preferably have completed some years of study and research after a first degree. Senior academic members are also welcome to participate. The school will be conducted in English.


  • introduction to function spaces
  • introduction to operator theory
  • Advanced operator theory
  • The theory of operator semigroups and their applications
  • The Laplacian on a Riemannian manifold
  • Distribution solutions to ordinary differential equations


Application is open to all mathematicians and graduate students from developing countries. Applicants from EAUMP member states will be given priority. We encourage participants to secure their own funding for travel and subsistence from their home institution. Limited funds are available for participants from sub-saharian African Countries. There is no registration fee.

How to apply:

Online application:

Apply here

Female scientists are encouraged to apply.

Deadline: 24 March 2017




Expiry Date: 
Wed, 2050-03-09 12:10

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi