The School of Mathematics is one of the largest schools in the University of Nairobi. It was established in 2005 during the restructuring from the then departments of mathematics at CBPS and CEES. It has 50 teaching staff and 6 non-teaching staff with about 2000 students each year including more than 40 postgraduate students.  Service courses students exceed 1500 in number.

The physical location of the school is at Chiromo, Science Campus of the University of Nairobi.

The School  offers specialised training in-:

  • Pure Mathematics,

  • Applied Mathematics,

  • Statistics, Biometry,

  • Actuarial Science,

  • Modelling and Operations Research

.Members of the school are actively involved in advanced and applied research of problems that arise in such diverse fields as mathematical biology, AIDS testing and control, vector control, agricultural pest control, educational and manpower planning, mathematical economics, wind energy analysis, analysis of entropy of African languages, survival analysis.

The School provides a lively environment for both undergraduate and postgraduate studies, and many opportunities for extra-curricular activities exist, both social and academic.  The social side includes parties and various competitive events organised in collaboration with student associations.

The School invites outside speakers to present seminars to staff and students as well as arranging internal research seminars. The National Group of the International Biometric Society (IBS-Gke) has its secretariat in the school and the Group holds its monthly seminar meetings in the school.  The school is also the current overall coordinating center the East African Universities Mathematics Programme (EAUMP) which aims at promoting teaching and research in Mathematics in the region in collaboration with the International Science Programme in Mathematics ISPM based in Uppsala, Sweden.

The School's organizational structure comprises of four divisions.

  • The Division of Pure Mathematics,

  • The Division of Applied and Industrial Mathematics,

  • The Division of Statistics and Operations Research,

  • The Division of Actuarial and Financial Mathematics.

These divisions are headed by a senior member of staff, in the relevant disciplines, who are charged with the key responsibility of providing subject leadership in the relevant area.  Each staff member belongs to one or more of the subject areas.

In addition the School has a coordinator based at CEES who manages the teaching of mathematics for the Bachelor of Education students based in Kikuyu campus and another coordinator based at Kenya Science campus who manages the teaching of Mathematics for Bachelor of Education Scince.

Graduates from the School of Mathematics find employment in many varied fields of the economy such as government departments, financial institutions, agricultural and medical research organisations, Universities, Schools and Colleges, Computing and I.T. Industry, Manufacturing Industry, Accounting and Auditing, Research and Consultancy and so on.

Many of the past students of the School currently hold top positions in various organisations, companies and government departments in the country.

Several others have taken important jobs in other countries such as in Europe and in South Africa and are engaged as high-level experts in their organisations.


The School of Mathematics which was established in 2005 was previously the Department of Mathematics.  We wish to recognize the following personalities  for  their distinguished service to the  Department/School of Mathematics as  either Chairmen or Directors.



Prof. Morris Alala-1972- 1977

Prof. George Saitoti 1978 – 1983(Sept)

 Prof. Billy Wandera Ogana-1983(Oct) -1991                                         

Prof. Joseph.A.M. Ottieno-1992-1994

   Dr.Cornelio Oyola Abungu-1995-1997                                 

Prof.  John Wycliffe Odhiambo-1998- 2000


Prof.John Okoth Owino-2001-2005 ( Chairman)2006-2007 (Director) (He was the last Chairman, and the first Director of the School)


Dr. Jamen Hudson Were-2008 to June 2014

Prof Patrick G.Weke June 2014 to date

Message From the Director

Workshops and Seminars

Community Outreach

Contact Us

School of Mathematics, CBPS College.

P. O. Box 30197 - 00100
Tel: 254-02-4445751.

Mobile no :0780-834766.
Email: maths@uonbi.ac.ke.




UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi