Date and time: 
Fri, 2014-10-17 11:15

with the announcement of the recipients of the IMU prizes: the Fields Medalists, Artur Avila, Manjul Bhargava,

Martin Hairer and Maryam Mirzakhani, the Nevanlinna Prize Winner, Subhash Khot, the Gauss Prize Winner, Stanley Osher and the Chern Prize Winner, Phillip Griffiths recieved their prizes at this ceremony while the Leelavati Prize Winner was awarded to Adrián Paenza during the Closing Ceremony on August 21.

A total of 1,278 research presentations were made during this congress. These included 5 awards lectures, 9 laudations and special lectures, 19 plenary lectures, 188 invited lectures, 657 contributed talks and 400 poster presentations.  Overall, the congress was a great success.

Staff and postgraduate students at the School of Mathematics, University of Nairobi, contributed through posters, as listed below:

  1. Beth Kiratu, Bernard Nzimbi and Stephen Luketero: On Weyl’s spectrum for some classes of operators in Hilbert spaces.
  2. Damian Maingi: Vector bundles associated to monads on multiprojective spaces.
  3. Josephine Kagunda, Sallet Gauthier and Wandera Ogana: A vector SIS malaria model in a patchy environment with age structure.
  4. Patrick Weke: Estimation of IBNR claims reserves using linear models.
  5. Patrick Weke: Linear estimation of scale parameter for logistic distribution based on consecutive order statistics
  6. Philip Ngare and Gunther Leobacher: Valuation of financial product for weather risk management.

Prof. Wandera Ogana, Dr. Josephine Kagunda and Ms. Beth Kiratu travelled to Seoul but the abstracts of all the posters are available in the book of abstracts.

It was revealed that the 28th International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM 2018) will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, August 7 – 15, 2018.


Expiry Date: 
Sat, 2020-10-17 11:15

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi